More Options

Language Assessments

What is the OELPA Test? 
Overview of OELPA Ohio is one of seven members of the English Language Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century (ELPA21) consortium. ELPA21 developed the English language proficiency assessment based on the English Language Proficiency Standards. The ELPA21 assessment is called OELPA when it is administered in Ohio. The OELPA is designed to measure the performance of English learners (ELs) as they progress through their K-12 education and work towards achieving college and career readiness. Students identified as ELs are required to take the OELPA in addition to the state tests.
The OELPA produces measures of English language acquisition in four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. All consortium members are committed to ensuring that ELs become skilled in all four domains and have chosen a model that does not allow a weakness in one domain to be masked by strong performance in others. Students cannot achieve overall proficiency without strong performance in all four domains.  
Grade Levels Tested
OELPA is administered to the following grade bands: kindergarten, grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-5, grades 6- 8 and grades 9-12.  
Testing Format
For the 2016-2017 school year, the OELPA was available in two formats: computer-based testing (online) and paper-based testing. The OELPA was designed as an online test. Paper versions were intended as an accommodation for students or districts that were unable to test online, for students who could not use the online test for cultural/religious reasons, and for students who needed paper test administration per their IEP. Tests were also available in Braille and large print for students requiring these specific accommodations.  
For more information, click to download brochure below or visit website: 
ELPA21 Website:
ELPA 21 CONSORTIUM & ELPA 21 Resources: 
Understanding Results Manual (click to view manual) 
  • Preschool